Main Page Sitemap

1983 nobel prize for literature

1983 nobel prize for literature

Buck United States English "for her rich and truly epic descriptions of peasant life in China and for her biographical masterpieces" 48 novel, biography 1939 Frans Eemil Sillanpä Finland Finnish "for his deep understanding of his country's peasantry and the exquisite art with which.
4, in 1901, Prudhomme received 150,782, sEK, which is equivalent to 8,823,637.78 SEK in January 2018.
In 1917, it was jointly awarded to the Danish authots Karl Adolph Gjellerup and Henrik Pontoppidian.
3, each recipient receives a medal, a diploma and a monetary award prize that has varied throughout the years.Prizes may be withheld or not awarded in years when no worthy recipient can be found or when the world situation (e.g., World Wars I and II) prevents the gathering of information needed to reach a decision.It is conferred by the.Dramatist 1937 Martin du Gard, Roger France novelist 1938 Buck, Pearl.S.The Nobel Prize in Literature was declined by the Soviet writer Boris Pasternak in 1958 and by the French author.6 The country with the most recipients of the Nobel Prize in Literature is France with 16, followed by the United States with 12 and the United Kingdom with.Writing of any language could possibly win the Nobel Prize.Coetzee ( South Africa) 2002 Imre Kertész ( Hungary) 2001.S.Retrieved from " ".United Kingdom) 2016, bob Dylan united States) 2015, svetlana Alexievich belarus) 2014.Novelist, poet 1959 Quasimodo, Salvatore Italy poet 1960 Saint-John Perse France poet 1961 Andric, Ivo Yugoslavia novelist 1962 Steinbeck, John.S.The academy was founded by King Sully Prudhomme Sully Prudhomme, French poet who was a leading member of the Parnassian movement, which sought to restore elegance, balance, and aesthetic standards to poetry, in reaction to the excesses of Romanticism.Novelist 1979 Elytis, Odysseus Greece poet 1980 climb 02 discount code Miosz, Czesaw.S.

Alfred Nobel (18331896) in his will.Eliot ( United States/ United Kingdom) 1947 André Gide ( France) 1946 Hermann Hesse ( Germany/ Switzerland) 1945 Gabriela Mistral ( Chile) 1944 Johannes Vilhelm Jensen ( Denmark) 1943 No prize awarded 1942 No prize awarded 1941 No prize awarded 1940 No prize awarded 1939.Naipaul United Kingdom (Born in Trinidad Tobago ) English "for having united perceptive narrative and incorruptible scrutiny in works that compel us to see the presence of suppressed histories" 107 novel, essay 2002 Imre Kertész Hungary Hungarian "for writing that upholds the fragile experience.Coetzee Australia South Africa English "who in innumerable guises portrays the surprising involvement of the outsider" 109 novel, essay, translation 2004 Elfriede Jelinek Austria German "for her musical flow of voices and counter-voices in novels and plays that with extraordinary linguistic zeal reveal the absurdity.Novelist 1931 Karlfeldt, Erik Axel (posthumous award) Sweden poet 1932 Galsworthy, John.K.Poet, novelist 1908, eucken, Rudolf Christoph, germany philosopher 1909.These three Nobel laureates have been sorted under Bengali, French and Russian, respectively.Bjørnson, Bjørnstjerne Martinius, norway novelist, poet, dramatist 1904, echegaray y Eizaguirre, José, spain dramatist.The laureate receives a gold medal and a diploma in addition to a large sum of money for the prize at a ceremony held in Stockholm.Nobel Foundation and awarded by a committee that consists of five members elected by the Swedish Academy.Denmark novelist 1945 Mistral, Gabriela Chile poet 1946 Hesse, Hermann Switzerland novelist 1947 Gide, André France novelist, essayist 1948 Eliot,.S.

Nobel Prize winners by category (literature) year name country* literary area *Nationality given is the citizenship of recipient at the time award was made.
1901, sully Prudhomme, france poet 1902, mommsen, Theodor, germany historian 1903.